Chances are, if you are reading this you have had to deal with a shoddy recruiter or 2. Or 3. Or more.  I hate to say it, but I am not surprised. It’s unfortunate, but there are so many horrible recruiters out there it is insane!  While I won’t be able to stop them from being horrible, I can try to help you avoid them from calling. And calling. And calling.

There are countless ways in which a recruiter can find your telephone number, but if they are the type that just dials for dollars,   they more than likely got your number from your resume being posted on a job board somewhere.  Don’t get me wrong, it is ok to put your number on your resume when you are searching.  In fact, you SHOULD put your number out there if you are searching, that is how someone will be able to reach out to you!  The problem is once you receive a job offer you may forget to take your resume down from the board or it may already be stored in a database.

When you are looking, if your resume is listed on a job board I am going to assume you aren’t hiding anything.  If that is the case, you may wish to change your voicemail message to end somewhere along the lines of:

“And if this is a recruiter, it is best to send me an email and I will follow up when I am able”

Choose your message how you deem fit, but the next step I would do is create a “job search” email address.  This will allow you to check emails when necessary and also allow you to keep track of different places you apply.  It should still be professional so you are able to use it when applying to specific companies as well as recruiters.  By setting your voicemail to have an email sent (to a job search address) you won’t have to worry about it cluttering up your inbox, but yet you will still be able to check it out when the time is right.

Even though you may continue to receive emails to your job search account even when you are no longer looking, I would still suggest checking it out every so often just in case your “dream job” pops up or there is a position which may line up with a colleagues skills that you know is looking.  It is a good idea to always know what else is out there as well as what fair market value is for someone in a similar position at another company.  Money isn’t everything, but it sure helps!

I realize this isn’t a foolproof method.  I also realize you may be bombarded with emails, but at least having a job search email address will allow you continue on with your daily life and only check it when you feel you are ready.  And please, as I mentioned before, keep it professional.  Nobody wants to call on somebody who has an email address like NinjaDonkey1975@aol.com.

Do you have any tips on avoiding recruiters?  Leave them in the comments section and help your fellow readers!

