After the job report this morning, I think it is safe to say that if you are able to secure an interview with a company you better take full advantage of the situation.  In my world as a recruiter, I have come to expect the unexpected.  I really shouldn’t be surprised anymore by what I hear from interviews, but I do deal with people and well, people are unpredictable!

With that, I thought I would share with you a recent situation we encountered.  This candidate is interviewing for a higher level job, paying in the upper $100K range and would be working in a management capacity.  One would think to get to that level in your career you would have to have your head on straight and know what you are doing, as well as be able to read situations correctly and act accordingly.  One would think…

Describe your management style…


To which the candidate responded  – “My employees love me. I make sure they have cookies, and cake and happy hour and stuff like that all the time.”  (Granted, I am sure most of us would love that as well, it probably isn’t the best way to conduct yourself in an interview.)

There were other questions asking the candidate about situations and relating to the potential position, but there was also another where the potential employer asked the candidate to describe their dream job and to speak about their passion to which the candidate replied “I’d like to be a tour manager for a rock band.”  Again, I am sure the person was just being honest and that sounds like it could be a pretty fun job, but I doubt it was what the person giving the interview had in mind, especially coming from a person of such “high caliber.”
There were a couple other odd answers as well, but that is enough to help prove my point.  Even though the job market is slow in certain parts of the country and having the chance to interview doesn’t come nearly as often as you would like, it is one thing to be yourself, just keep it within reason.  You may feel this is your one and only shot to leave a lasting impression.  And it is.  You just want to make sure the impression you are leaving is a good one where you don’t come across as immature or crazy or any other negative feeling.

Do you know anyone with some “different” interview answers?  Leave them in the comments section below and share with the rest of us!

